One of Three

“Where do you guys get these ringtones by the way?”

Posted in School by Stephanie on November 16, 2011

I’m toying with the idea of writing my next big paper on a comparison of Ronald Reagan and George W. Bush. I’ve begun the research with studying different approval ratings related to job creation, foreign policy, tax reform, etc. According to Gallup polls, Reagan and Bush are on opposite ends of the spectrum. Why is that? Why do these two presidents who did so many things similar come out with such opposing success rates? Is what they did in fact similar, or was it created, in the moment, to look that way?

Where my interest sits highest is in the use of propaganda. I’ve begun the search at the most logical start, the presidential campaign for first time election. I’m watching what everyone else watched. The campaign ads. On the topic of Reagan, I think I’ve made some serious headway with “The Bear” and the statement “I am paying for this microphone, Mr. Green.” My search with George W. has not yet begun.

But because I love side tracks, and any excuse to procrastinate, I thought I’d show you this. This video makes me laugh every time. I could watch it a thousand times. I’d still laugh. Notice his face. His eyes. His wife coming to his rescue. His quick change in emotion from astonishment, to irritation, to humor. Moments like this are what define the presidency to so many. A commonality. An identifiable emotion for the voting, mindless masses. Years later we can come back and look at the big picture, as what I’m hoping to do with my research on Reagan and Bush. However in the present, it’s moments like this that get voters to vote. His ability to be charming is what it’s all about. Do you remember when he caught the fly?

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dawny said, on November 16, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Well written girl. I have to agree. A commonality.


Leave a comment